The Calm Before the Storm

We have just come back from vacation and I have a ticket to Tasmania for my first WWOOFing adventure on Saturday. I’ll be staying with a woman named Celia and her family. She sounds wonderful on the phone. I’m hoping to learn a little bit about permaculture, preserving foods and animal husbandry with this family.

It’s a little bit boring just hanging around the house waiting for this adventure to begin but I’m taking as much advantage of it as possible. I’ve gotten the house all tidied up and I’ll be working on setting up the guest room in preparation for my Mum and sister’s arrival after the baby is born.

I have to say that I’m a little nervous, although very excited. I have no idea what to expect but I’ve only ever heard great things about the WWOOFing experience. It’s going to be a little hard being away from Aaron for such a long period of time (I plan on being gone for 2 weeks), but I know I’ll be busy. Celia asks for 6 hours worth of work per day in return of the accommodation, meals and knowledge she will be sharing with me. She seemed a little hesitant when I told her that I was 6 months pregnant, but once I assured her that it has yet to slow me down in the least she didn’t seem to mind at all. Looking forward to beginning the process of learning how to grow and preserve my own food!

~ Kristi

One thought on “The Calm Before the Storm

  1. I am both excited and proud. I think this is a great opportunity for you and something you will really enjoy and benifits from. I send my love and tons of air hugs. I’ll be seeing you soon.

    Like

Leave a Comment

